The pretty village of Kinloch Rannoch lies on the eastern tip of Loch Rannoch. With Kinloch Rannoch at the eastern edge of the loch, Loch Rannoch stretches ten miles west to the Bridge of Gaur.
The name of Kinloch Rannoch comes from the Gaelic term of 'Ceann Loch' meaning 'end of the loch'. With this, Kinloch Rannoch benefits from beautiful loch-side views as well as the stunning countryside.
Kinloch Rannoch is a popular place to visit thanks to its picture-postcard views. The area is ideal for tourists as it hosts many activities which makes the most of the great outdoors in all types of Kinloch Rannoch weather.
In the heart of Perthshire, between significant settlements of Perth and Kinross, it is easily accessible. The village provides peace and tranquillity while benefiting from the large towns just a short drive away.
There is evidence of settlement in the area surrounding Kinloch Rannoch from as far back as 500AD when the missionary St. Blane arrived although the name remains a mystery, as the word “kinloch” means head of a loch, rather than the foot, where the village is located. For many hundreds of years, this tiny and remote hamlet was home to a few primitive people who lived a poverty-stricken existence, surviving mainly by thieving and, for a long time, there were no roads or bridges in the area.
It wasn’t until the end of the 1745 Jacobite Rebellion that James Small, a soldier in Lord Loudon’s Regiment, started to enlarge and settle the village with numbers of discharged soldiers and displaced crofters. Initially, the soldiers spent a large part of their time trying to apprehend bands of plundering Highlanders who stole cattle and hid quantities of arms in the hills. The soldiers met with little support from the locals, and the reputation of the “Rannoch thieves” spread far and wide.